Steve Hill
Steve Hill

Steve Hill / 02 MAR 2015

Every man’s work shall be made manifest: for the day shall declare it, because it shall be revealed by fire; and the fire shall try every man’s work of what sort it is. – 1 Corinthians 3:13

A man who prided himself on his morality and expected to be saved by it was constantly saying, “I’m doing pretty well on the whole. I sometimes get mad and swear, but then I am perfectly honest. I watch some questionable movies and have a minor lust problem, but I give a good deal to the poor, and I’ve never been drunk in my life.”

He hired a neighbor to build a fence around his pasture. When the neighbor came in from his work, the man said, “Well, Jim, is the fence built, and is it tight and strong?”

“I cannot say it is all tight and strong,” replied Jim, “But it’s a good average fence. If some parts are a little weak, other parts are extra strong. There may be a little gap here and there, but I made up for it by doubling the rails on each side. I daresay the cattle will find it a good fence on the whole.”

“What?” cried the man, not seeing the point. “Do you mean to tell me that you built my fence with weak places and gaps in it? You might as well have built no fence at all! If there is even one opening or weak place, the cattle will be sure to find it and go through. Don’t you know that a fence must be perfect or it is worthless?”

“I used to think so,” Jim said. “But I hear you talk so much about averaging out matters with the Lord, it seemed to me we might try it with the cattle. If an average fence will not do for them, I am afraid an average character will not do on the Day of Judgment.”

~ Genesis 8; Matthew 8; Ezra 8; Acts 8


Steve Hill Ministries | P.O. Box 612288, Dallas, TX 75261

