Take a moment to see if you can use this picture to describe a spiritual truth.
Take a moment to see if you can use this picture to describe a spiritual truth.

Dewey Bland / 04 FEB 2015 – I worked for the Federal Bureau of Prisons for 13 years in the United States. At times, with some very dangerous individuals. In all those years I never got bloody during a Bible study. I come on the mission field and “wham!” right during my 8th grade boys Bible class.

I have been teaching the 6th-9th grade boys at Cuatro Christian School about Biblical, Christian character traits. Each week we cover a different one like Strength, Holiness, Gladness, Candor, and Courage. Well, week 16 brought us to TRUST. I decide an object lesson about Trust will help drive home the concept. What better object lesson than Trust Falls…

We begin the Trust Falls on the floor where I am asking the students if they trust me to catch them. Many of them volunteer and do a good job of completely trusting me. So then, I ask if any of them trust me & 3 of their classmates. I get a volunteer and I have him climb up on a table for a real show of trust. I and his friends lock arms and ask him to fall into them.

Little did I know he is presently taking Judo lessons where they are taught to throw their arms back to break their fall. Once his body gets about 45 degrees from vertical he throws his elbow back and connects squarely with my nose…OUCH!. We did manage to catch him, but I was nearly knocked out. I have a sneaky feeling this character trait will be the one best remembered by the 8th grade boys based upon the object lesson.

You know Jesus spoke in parables (many of them concerning agriculture ~ Matthew 13) and painted word pictures (John 14:2 “My Father’s house has many rooms…”) to help his audience capture the point he was making or better understand the teaching. Once Jesus used a paralyzed man as an object lesson.

In Luke 5:23-25, Jesus said, “Which is easier: to say, ‘Your sins are forgiven’, or to say, ‘Get up and walk’? But I want you to know that the Son of Man has authority on earth to forgive sins.” So he said to the paralyzed man, “I tell you, get up, take your mat and go home.” Immediately he stood up in front of them, took what he had been lying on and went home praising God.

Jesus had forgiven the man’s sins and wanted everyone present to believe the sins had been forgiven as sure as the paralyzed man was able to walk away from the meeting. What an awesome manner of driving home the point being made. Jesus was a masterful storyteller.

We can learn a lot about teaching and about God by how Jesus taught and what Jesus taught. TRUST me.

So now it is your turn. This picture is of two very important people in my life, Emmanuel and Emma Jordan. Take a moment to see if you can use this picture to describe a spiritual truth. Did you do it? I would love for you to share it with me if you did. You can leave a comment or contact me at deweyandellen@gmail.com. Blessings…Dewey


Source: The Bland’s Bulletin – 03 FEB 2015
Posted on February 3, 2015 by The Bland’s Bulletin

